Clonliffe Harriers A.C. began promoting international athletics meets in 1940s these meets were extremely successful attracting huge crowds from the sports mad Dublin public.  In 1955 Clonliffe Harriers built its own stadium in Santry where the annual ‘Clonliffe Sports’ found a permanent home.  The most famous year in the new stadium was 1958 when over the course of two international sports, one in July and one in August four world records were set in Santry.  August 6th 1958 is the historic date when Herb Elliot set a new world mile record of 3:54.5. .


Clonliffe Harriers introduced the Morton Memorial Invitational Mile, held to honour the memory of Billy Morton who had died in December 1969, in 1970. That first Morton Mile was won by Kip Keino (KEN).  The Morton Mile over the years has attracted cream of world middle distance runners including in addition to  Kip Keino, John Walker, Steve Ovett, Steve Scott, Eamonn Coghlan, Marcus O’Sullivan, Frank O’Mara, Ray Flynn, Niall Bruton, Will Leer and Lopez Lomong.



Check out the amazing records set in Morton Stadium over the years

The Morton Games commenced in 2008 initially as a one off to mark the 50th anniversary of Elliot’s World Mile record and in 2011 became an annual meet, adopting the title Morton Games in 2012. Recent meets have seen some of the Worlds best come to Santry including in 2008 world hammer champion Betty Heidler (GER). In 2012 the Meet attracted no less than 15 Olympic athletes including Matt Centrowitz (USA) 4th in the 2012 Olympic 1500m final and 2016 Olympic Champion, Nick Symmonds (USA), Emma Coburn (USA) a 3,000m sc Olympic finalist in 2012 and bronze medallist in 2016. 2014 was “the night of nights” with eight stadium records set during the course of a never to be forgotten Dublin Summer`s evening, the highlight being Will Leer`s demolition of Steve Scott`s 1980 Stadium Mile record setting a new mark of 3.51.82. 2015 saw Yohan Blake (JAM) come to town to run the fastest ever 100 on Irish soil 10.12 in front of a packed stadium. The 2018 Morton Games saw the men`s 800 won by former World Indoor champion Boris Berian.

The local organising committee of the Morton Games is: Noel Guiden (Meet Director), Liam Hennessy, Paddy Marley, Joe Cooper, Killian Lonergan, Sinead Gordon, Conor Greally and Jeremy Lyons.

The 2019 Morton Games will feature the most famous race in Irish athletics: The Morton Mile and a full programme of top international athletics.



The most extraordinary mile in the history of athletics